Non-Dairy is not the same as Dairy Free

Hey Everyone! 

I hate when I am out somewhere, and food companies lie to you on their packaging. When packaging on a food product that says that it is “non-dairy”, “Lactose Free” and so on and so forth, but you then go to the ingredients to just make sure, and then clear as day see “contains a dairy derivative” and Sodium Caseinates. 

For those of you who are not dairy free, Lactose is the sugar in milk, And Sodium Caseinates are the proteins in milk. So those of us who are either dairy intolerant or have a milk allergy, we can’t eat any product that has milk, cream, butter, cheese in it, but even more so than that, we can’t have anything that has Lactose, Whey, Whey Protein, or Sodium Caseinates in it. 

It is out and out lies, as well as false advertising and misleading for companies to claim something is “non-dairy”, when it in fact has something like Sodium Caseinates in it. Case in point – coffeemate coffee creamer says right on the bottle it is “non-dairy creamer” and that it is lactose free. Just because it is not straight up milk or cream, it is full of sodium caseinates (the milk proteins). How is something that clearly contains a milk derivative (that makes certain people sick) non-dairy? That is a lawsuit waiting to happen if it hasn’t already. 


I had grabbed a vanilla one for the pictures, but all the flavors contain sodium caseinates. 

Things like this disgust me and are appalling. While I am no expert on dairy allergies, sensitivities and intolerances, I have dealt with being dairy intolerant long enough to see right through companies schemes. 

When I had to go dairy free, there was no in between no mans land, of “do I really need to do this?”, I had to do it, or not be able to function. I also didn’t have anyone to show me the ropes or any form of dairy free support network. It was just me, on my own, and I had a sharp learning curve. 

Now, five and a half years later, I have a pretty good handle on being dairy free (I will have a better handle on it when I am able to live on my own again). It is all part of Homemaking – being able to cook and bake to accommodate my food intolerances. 

If I could help even one other person, who is forced to go dairy free, the pain and hardship of the past five and a half years would be worth it. 

Published by

pacificnorthwestblogger

I have been knitting since I was 10. I love to read, write, knit, listen to music, Travel, and learn about history, especially when it comes to how women got things done around the home up to the mid-1960's.

Leave a Reply

