Urban Homesteading, update. 

Hey Everyone! 

A few posts ago I know I talked a bit about urban homesteading. I still want to do the homesteading part, but not so much the urban part. I am at best a small town kind of a girl. 

Yes, it would be easier to deal with my food intolerances in the city, as the availablity of Gluten Free & Dairy Free food is so much greater, but I am not one for easy. 

While I could do dairy free & gluten free pretty much easier, being out west here, is preferable to me. It would be a shorter distance to get Bob’s Red Mill products shipped, or closer to drive to Portland and stock up. 

As far as the homestead part, that would be easier, garden wise to do in a small town or out in the country. I have wanted to have enough property for a while to have some goats and chickens, in addition to the garden for a while. 

Depending on where I end up, I definitely want a greenhouse, to be able to grow some vegetables in the winter. 

While I do not want to live in the big city forever, as it is to busy, and on the go for me. I definitely prefer a slower pace of daily life, where I can spend more time outside and feel like I have room to move and breathe. I still want to homestead, use more alternate forms of energy, like solar, and live a more self sustainable life. 

Published by

pacificnorthwestblogger

I have been knitting since I was 10. I love to read, write, knit, listen to music, Travel, and learn about history, especially when it comes to how women got things done around the home up to the mid-1960's.

Leave a Reply

