Scottish Thistle Cookie Stamp

Hey Everyone!

The last time I was in Bob’s Red Mill (about a week ago), I was picking up some of their gluten free (and dairy free) baking mixes that I knew I liked, or wanted to try. One of the ones I had been seeing around, that I wanted to try was the gluten free shortbread cookie mix. I had picked that up while I was there, and was like “I really want a Scottish cookie stamp to use with it”, so I began my journey of trying to find a Scottish cookie stamp as well as a round biscuit cutter or large enough single round cookie cutter (those are proving harder than expected to come by). I ended up going online to find a Scottish Thistle cookie stamp, even if I got back to the renaissance faire and if the same vendor was there, who was selling cookie stamps last year, doesn’t mean I would find what I was looking for. I also wanted it sooner than that. As for the round biscuit cutter or round cookie cutter of the right size, I am not in as much of need of one for myself as I was for the cookie stamp, as I am sure there is something in the kitchen where I am living that will work for the time being. I also don’t want to spend more than $5 for a single round cookie or biscuit cutter, let alone I don’t want to pay shipping for something I know I will be able to find in a kitchen store at some point. I just need to keep my eyes open.

IMG_0810

Those who have known me since I was at least in college, know that I am borderline obsessed with all things Scottish, and that Scotland is at the top of my international travel bucket list. Part of that is because I have some Scottish heritage, as well as the fact that I love the cool, wet, climate, and the pictures I have seen are breath taking.

There are a lot of things that if they are made in Scotland, especially items such as high quality yarn, and kitchen utensils, that I know are well made. While this particular cookie stamp was made in the USA, It is a Scottish print, and I wanted a cookie stamp that had a Scottish print, especially when I was going to be using it for something that is distinctly British.

Stay Tuned for my Gluten Free & Dairy Free shortbread cookie baking blog! that will be forthcoming soon, now that I have my cookie stamp.

Published by

pacificnorthwestblogger

I have been knitting since I was 10. I love to read, write, knit, listen to music, Travel, and learn about history, especially when it comes to how women got things done around the home up to the mid-1960's.

Leave a Reply

