Eating Cleaner

Hey Everyone!

It’s still January, and I am really working eating healthier. These past few months, I have been not eating as healthy as I know I should and I have been feeling that. I have also been noticing how expensive it is trying to eat dairy free and gluten free while not eating healthy. I realize that fruit, vegetables and lean proteins are not the cheapest. I have been figuring out where I can shop locally to get the best prices for what I want to eat.

I have also noticed that when I am not eating as healthy as I know I should be, that by mid morning and mid afternoon, I feel like I haven’t eaten all day. This weekend though, I have been eating healthy, and I have been staying fuller, longer. I am also figuring out what types of healthy snacks I like to eat in between meals, that are good for me. 

This past Friday I did my grocery shopping, most of which was done at Trader Joe’s. I don’t do my whole shopping there just because of the limited selection of dairy free staples that I am used to. But in terms of produce, and snacks they have an amazing selection. 

I had spent a little over $52 at Trader Joe’s for this week, and this is all that I got for that money:

From Safeway I spent about $25 and this is what I got:


I have not been a fan of red meat for a while, and I can’t eat dairy, which helps with clean eating. I am definitely trying to eat more fish – especially fish that comes from the Pacific Northwest (Oregon/Washington) or Alaska, and white meat, and do more vegan complete protein that isn’t tofu to change things up. 

Part of my goal is to eat more local foods and food that grows naturally in this part of the country. Because this part of the country is so temperate, and we have plenty of natural waterways, that fish, berries, nuts and such have been available here for quite a while. 

Stay tuned for more clean eating grocery hauls! 

Published by

pacificnorthwestblogger

I have been knitting since I was 10. I love to read, write, knit, listen to music, Travel, and learn about history, especially when it comes to how women got things done around the home up to the mid-1960's.

Leave a Reply

