Choosing to Live Simply 

Hey Everyone!

Over the course of the past year especially, though it has really grown out of having lived in a small town after having grown up in the city, that I want to live a simpler life, that is more about being outdoors and adventures than having the latest and greatest items or having a huge house or driving fancy cars. 

I do want a home of my own, but a smaller farmhouse on several acres is my dream house. I want to be able to have a garden, some chickens (both laying chickens and chickens to raise for food). I have been wanting to live a more self sustainable lifestyle for a while now. I don’t really want to go completely off grid, at least not yet. I definitely want to be less reliant on the grocery store for all my food needs. I know I would still have to go for dairy alternatives, and go to Bob’s Red Mill for my gluten free products, but for everything else, if I can’t grow it, or it would not be as cost effective to grow it, going to local farm stores that sell the produce they grew or like a food cooperative that buys from multiple different local smaller farms. 

I also want to do more canning, preserving, and putting away food for the winter months. I began learning how to can when I was little, and now, I do know how to can. 

Wanting to be able to can, and preserve my own food, and have a garden and raise chickens and such is more than just because it is traditionally what women have done, but more so being able to take care of myself without relying so heavily on grocery stores and such. I like knowing where my food comes from. I know canning and all that kind of stuff is hard work, as I have done it before. 

For me, it’s not so much about society telling me I need to want a home of my own, and to do all this stuff, like having a garden or can my own food, or knit. Growing up in the city, in the era that I have, I have heard nothing but “you can do anything you want, you need to have a career, and fight for equal rights in the workplace, and make your mark as 21st century woman”, and all I am interested in, is living on some acreage, growing/raising a lot of my own food, and live a more unconventional lifestyle. 

This past year, I have really realized that I would rather live in smaller house, with some land, and make my home cozy, and that there are more important things in life than having all the material things and a big teched out house. I would rather spend my money on books and adventures. A couple summers ago, I was seriously going to the beach about every other weekend, and it had to have been my favorite summer so far. For someone like me, going to the beach never gets old, especially if I can spend the night, and watch the sunset over the Pacific Ocean, and have a campfire. I have seen many a sunset over the ocean, but it never gets old for me. I prefer experiencing the simple things, and prefer experiences over material possessions. 

During this year, I am working on finding a way to support myself doing what I love, and filling out what I need for a place of my own, and have as many amazing experiences as possible. 

Published by

pacificnorthwestblogger

I have been knitting since I was 10. I love to read, write, knit, listen to music, Travel, and learn about history, especially when it comes to how women got things done around the home up to the mid-1960's.

Leave a Reply

