Weaning Off Computer Games and TV Apps

Hey Everyone!

Recently I came to the conclusion that for me personally, computer games and maintaining a Netflix and Hulu Plus account are just a waste of time and money, when I would be better spending my free time reading books, and restricting the amount of time I spend watching TV or movies to when it is too cold to be outside or I am working on a knitting project. This also goes for watching YouTube, there was a time when I used to watch at least 6 vlogs a day, if not more. Now the only youtubers I watch every single video they upload are: The Chick’s Life and Dudelikehella’s LiveEachDay. The Chick’s Life is no longer Daily (except during the month of December), and LiveEachDay vlogs are really no more than 15 or so minutes per video, so as it is, that is only about 30 minutes on any given day. 

I stopped watching Cullen and Katie months ago (before Brooks was born), and now I only watch Ellie and Jared, DailyBumps, and the SacconeJoly’s on a rare occasion. A while back I stopped watching BZVlogs just because watching so many Vlogs became too much. I still will go watch occasionally to see what is going on, but not often. 

I would rather go make my own memories and share them through pictures and blogs, or making an occasional video. I don’t really have anything against Daily Vloggers, I am just at a point in my life where my priorities are on making my own memories, and investing in my own life, and the lives of the friends I have in real life. 

As I am writing this, I am trying to make goals for myself, for things I want to achieve and be able to write blog posts that generally can stand alone in terms of content but are all part of the main theme of my blog – keeping the blog posted related but not dependent on any other blog post. 

Ok, getting back on track from that tangent the main point I am trying to make is that I am trying to get back to a simpler way of life where Technology does not control and run my life. I really want to live more in the moment and enjoy the life I have instead of being obsessed with capturing every minute of every day, or wasting my time on activities that are not productive. 

Published by

pacificnorthwestblogger

I have been knitting since I was 10. I love to read, write, knit, listen to music, Travel, and learn about history, especially when it comes to how women got things done around the home up to the mid-1960's.

Leave a Reply

