The life I am Working For

Hey Everyone!

I have been writing posts for a while about how I want to live a more natural lifestyle, live Semi off grid, grow my own food and know where it comes from and all that Jazz. 

All of that and then some is the life I am working for. Growing up I was just another city kid who didn’t bat an eye at the food at the grocery store, or question how it was raised and cared for. I didn’t question what I put in my body until College, even then it Wasn’t like it is now. Now that I have food intolerances and sensitivities. The whole having to reword my brain around food has made me want to learn more about how to live a healthier life, and know what I am putting in my body, and where it comes from. 

I have loved fishing and being outdoors since I was little, I have always lived that kind of thing. After visiting my cousin in Canada 4 years ago, who was raising chickens for food at the time, was another bite from the homestead bug. 

I also grew up helping my mom can fruit, and pickles. So that is a skill I learned young.

All of this from growing as much of my own fruit and vegetables as I can myself, and what I can’t grow (or isn’t feasible or realistic to grow myself), purchase from local farms. I want to be able to can in the summer and early fall, as well as put chicken that I raised, and fish that I caught in the freezer for winter, so that the only food I need to purchase from the store is dried fruit, nuts, coconut almond milk, oatmeal, flour, and items I can’t get from my backyard or local farms. 

I also want a couple of goats for the fun of it. 

I am wondering is some of my issues are related to the quality and types of food that I am eating and is available to me, and maybe if I had eggs and fish that I gathered or caught myself that were raised in the wild or on a natural diet and had part of their coop outside where they could get fresh air and sunshine if I might have different results, and feel better over all. 

Published by

pacificnorthwestblogger

I have been knitting since I was 10. I love to read, write, knit, listen to music, Travel, and learn about history, especially when it comes to how women got things done around the home up to the mid-1960's.

Leave a Reply

