Sticking to what is right for me

Hey Everyone! 

I am still very much in the middle of my journey of transitioning from products that are chalked full of man made chemicals and synthetics that research is now showing is linked to many diseases that have exploded since the greatest generation was my age to using more natural products with natural ingredients that are actually good for your skin. Besides the fact that all these chemicals and such gross me out, I have always had super sensitive skin and would break out with rashes if the wrong kind of laundry detergent is used. I always use free and clear laundry detergent when I do laundry. 

Knowing how sensitive my skin is, not only do I worry about all the chemicals, I also worry about how strong the scent is, and how the chemical make up will react when it comes into contact with my body chemistry. 

I have struggled for years to find a skin care routine and a deodorant that do their jobs, are fairly natural and work with my body chemistry. Since I found perfectly posh, my skin has been doing so much better. I am also loving how well the unscented Native deodorant is working for me. I have had so many drug store and natural brand deodorants cause uncomfortable rashes under my arms, which were only made worse by shaving. TMI and as gross as it may be for many of you, I stopped shaving my arm pits and use native deodorant.

This whole adjustment to do what is best for my body certainly hasn’t been easy when it has been a lot of going against the cultural and societal norms, yet I am still too normal or mainstream to really be a part of any subculture. I am somewhere in the middle. Finding that middle ground that works for me, and being at odds with both sides has been challenging. It really comes down to being OK with who I am, and embracing that individuality, and sticking to my guns.

I, personally have been met with my fair share of resistance, skepticism, ignorance, and just flat out belief that I am wrong just because what is best for me, and my well being goes against cultural norms. I have spent as much time as I can, educating myself so I can give facts in support of why what I am doing, is the best option for me. 

I am by no means an expert, but I have had to learn all that I know about dairy free, gluten free, natural ingredients, natural lifestyle, fewer chemicals all on my own, as I didn’t have anyone to guide me, or give me tips and tricks. 

There is still a lot I am still learning. If there are any topics along the lines of dairy free, generally gluten free (going completely gluten free is still something I am working on), transitioning to natural skin care products, no red meat, limiting use of eggs to baked goods, or some other topic within reason you want me to post about, leave me a comment below. 

Published by

pacificnorthwestblogger

I have been knitting since I was 10. I love to read, write, knit, listen to music, Travel, and learn about history, especially when it comes to how women got things done around the home up to the mid-1960's.

Leave a Reply

