Life has shaped my lifestyle 

Hey Everyone!

For the past few months really, I have really been envisioning what my future is supposed to look like. Let’s just say smaller house with a good kitchen (and plenty of pantry space), outside of the city with a wood burning stove, solar panels, a garden in the backyard and a Jeep (or a Subaru) to drive. Some place with less pollution, that is still within about a 2 hour drive of the city. Why my parameters are set at about 2 hours of this city is because my friends are here, there is Bob’s Red Mill, countless Trader Joe’s, New seasons, Whole Foods, and other stores that have a good selection of the natural stuff that is better for you and is Dairy and Gluten Free. 

How I got to the point of questioning the mainstream and why I was doing what I was doing, and the motives behind it, then when College was over and I moved back to the city (and the old life I wanted to get away from in the first place), it didn’t take long to be back mainstream for a little over a year, at which point my body crossed a point of no return and I was forced (by my body) to go Dairy and Gluten Free. That was almost 5 years ago. Over the past 5 years I have changed as I have really had to dive into what my body can and can’t tolerate. Then that has progressed to understanding the adverse effects of processed food, environmental pollution, the products we use on our skin and put in our bodies. As it is, the only supplements I take daily are a dairy free probiotic tablet and a vitamin D tablet. 

I have known for a while that when I am able to have a place of my own, I want a garden of my own and be able to take advantage of solar panels to help generate electricity, and reduce the amount of electricity I needed from the grid. While I Really don’t want to live completely off grid, reducing my dependence on it, and being more self sufficient and living a healthier life is my goal. 

Part of this process of living a more natural life (and yes I shower daily), is going from using mainstream products to using more natural plant based products, and reducing the amount of toxic and harmful chemicals I use. This past summer I began the switch from mainstream sunblock to a mineral based sunblock – fewer chemicals yet still protecting my skin. I really don’t want to damage my skin anymore than I already have. 

I began using perfectly posh because I liked the products. As I learned more about the products, I began to see why I loved them and began loving them more. I finally found face products that work, it has taken more than half my life to find a skin care regiment for my face that works. I wouldn’t still be using it if it didn’t. 

I really don’t see myself as being “alternative” or “hipster” or a “hippie”, but seeing who I am today vs who I was 6 years ago, I have changed and Portland is rooted in who I am. I didn’t change because I wanted to be all green and “about the environment”, I changed and become more green and environmentally conscious when my body decided it didn’t like main stream food any more and my skin didn’t like main stream products. 

When life throws you a curveball you adapt without losing the core values of who you are. For me, it has only highlighted those values. 

Published by

pacificnorthwestblogger

I have been knitting since I was 10. I love to read, write, knit, listen to music, Travel, and learn about history, especially when it comes to how women got things done around the home up to the mid-1960's.

Leave a Reply

