Gluten Free – Dairy Free Balsamic Apple Crisp

Hey Everyone! 

Last week when I had gone grocery shopping I had picked up 4 Organic gala apples, because I wanted to make Balsamic Apple Crisp – which I finally got around to this evening. 

Beings that I am dairy free and gluten free, I made my balsamic apple crisp gluten free & dairy free. 

I cored and sliced up the four apples, layering about half the slices on the bottom of a 9 x 9 square Pyrex then lightly coasted that layer of apples with Balsamic Vinegar . In a separate bowl I mixed up about 2/3 cup brown sugar and 2/3 cup Bob’s Red Mill gluten free 1 to 1 flour. If you don’t have that you can use a different gluten free flour blend and some xanthan gum, I typically use a brown rice flour blend and xanthan gum. I then sprinkled some of the flour and sugar mix over the first layer of apples, ten layered the rest of the apple slices on top of that, then a little bit more balsamic vinegar and the rest of the flour/sugar mix.

For the topping, in a bowl I mixed up some gluten free old fashioned oats, some GF flour, some brown sugar and some vegan spread until it looked, felt and tasted right. I then evenly distributed the topping mix over the top of the apples. 

I baked the crisp in a preheated oven that I set at 350 degrees Fahrenheit, for 45 minutes (apples should be soft). 

I like the flavor that the balsamic gives the apples. I would be interested in trying this again with Granny Smith apples. 

I am a huge fan of baking (and cooking). I have always enjoyed working in the kitchen, and working with my hands. 

As a society we have gone more to gender equality in the business world, I am not saying that there is anything wrong with that as a whole. My point is that as a society so many skills that girls once learned because they were girls, like cooking, baking, canning, sewing, knitting, crocheting, and such has been lost for most of my generation. I have no problems with women being in the work force (I currently have a full time job as an engineering assistant). I just want to preserve, share, and teach about the history that is so quickly being forgotten. Seriously, somewhere between 90 and 100 years ago one set of my great-grandparents lived in, and worked a homestead with at least 6 of their 9 children. 

Not only am I a fan of sustainable living and self reliance, but also being a good steward of what I have been given. Part of why I am interested in what a Semi off grid lifestyle is like, where I would still have electricity, but using the grid electricity as more of a back up for when we don’t get enough sunlight for the solar powered, and in the evening/mornings when it is still dark, but I really don’t want to go without running water or internet. Yes I am very much a product of my generation and may seem like a walking contradiction, but it all makes sense in my head.  

Published by

pacificnorthwestblogger

I have been knitting since I was 10. I love to read, write, knit, listen to music, Travel, and learn about history, especially when it comes to how women got things done around the home up to the mid-1960's.

Leave a Reply

