Going more Natural

Hey Everyone!

Over the course of the last few months, since I began using ItWorks and Perfectly Posh products that are naturally based, I was reminded of something I had really wanted to start doing a while back. That is to live a more natural lifestyle. That started when I had to go dairy free, and generally gluten free.

I have wanted to use naturally based products for many reasons, mostly health related so that I felt better inside and out, and reduced the chances to have a reaction to products. I still have to be careful about the products I use, and reading labels, as some “natural” products really aren’t all that natural.

Having grown up, and spent most of my life in the Pacific Northwest, in the part of said region that is all about recycling, composting, and is driven primarily liberal politics, at some point some of that “natural lifestyle” was bound to rub off, since I have been saturated in my whole life. Having to go Dairy Free and limit gluten, has definitely pushed my toward it that much more. I have also been trying to educate myself on how bad these man made chemicals really are for our bodies and the environment (every time you shower, brush your teeth, and so much more, you are putting chemicals down the drain then are put into the sewer or septic system and have to be dealt with, and end up in the environment). These chemicals have been connected to causing cancers and other health issues that were not around, or if they were around not as prevalent 100 year ago as they are today.

For the past year or two, I have been using a laundry soap that I mix up myself (it is one of those DIY laundry soaps I found on Pinterest), it uses Borax, Fels Naphtha, and Arm & Hammer super washing soda. Ever since I was little, I (or my parents) had to be super careful with what they used to wash my clothes, as I have broken out in hives with several different brands of laundry detergents, and I can’t use anything that is super strongly scented or I break out.

As for other cleaning products, I like Mrs. Meyers Clean Day and Seventh Generation cleaning products. I am not adverse to keeping some lysol around the house for tough situations or to give the house a good thorough cleaning (especially after having had a cold or something), but for normal day to day, I prefer the natural products, that for the day to day cleaning are just as good and won’t put too many crazy chemicals on or in my body.

While I am well on my way to living a more natural lifestyle, there are many things I am not going to give up, like personal hygiene aka brushing my teeth, showering, using deodorant, doing laundry regularly etc. I am still a firm believer in all of that, I am just choosing to use more natural ways for doing them that are better for me and the environment.

 

Published by

pacificnorthwestblogger

I have been knitting since I was 10. I love to read, write, knit, listen to music, Travel, and learn about history, especially when it comes to how women got things done around the home up to the mid-1960's.

Leave a Reply

