Making Changes

Hey Everyone!

I am making some minor changes to this blog in that I am adding to the scope and depth of what I blog about. I will still be blogging about home, homemaking, decorating, what urban homesteading I am able to do, finding a sense of community in the large city, products I use and like, especially those that are more natural and have fewer chemicals, as well as gluten free/dairy free life. 

Having had to go Dairy Free and generally avoid gluten, has changed my life in more ways than I ever thought it would. In many ways it has forced me to open up to the alternative lifestyles and cultures that have made their home in this city. In many ways I grew up very mainstream, where all my food came from the chain grocery stores, and my clothes came from the mall, and I didn’t think about what was actually in what I was putting in my body and applying to my body. I had to start thinking about it more, and start reading labels on everything. It really started bothering me that there all these chemicals and things I couldn’t pronounce in what I was eating and using on my body. 

It took a couple years to really embrace the whole completely dairy free, mostly gluten free lifestyle that includes way more healthy fresh foods, or at least minimally processed, with the only ingredients being things I can pronounce and know what they are. Then I found ItWorks, and the  products, some of which I love. I love Greens, Greens Chews, Hair Skin Nails, and itsvital core nutrition. Within my first month of being an ItWorks distributor, I came across Perfectly Posh, which a friend of mine is a consultant for. I have been trying some of their products, a few of which I love. I have found that the BFF face wash is amazing (I have combo/oily skin) it dries my face enough in the right places without over drying the other places. I also have been using Smashing Good Pumpkin, which is an anti acne body and face clay. I started using the BFF and Smashing Good Pumpkin when I started using HSN again, as it has made my face break out. I have found that the Facewash and Clay mask have been helping with clearing up my skin. They work, mainly because they are made with natural ingredients that have been around for centuries in the wild, and have proven health benefits. I have come to realize that the First Nations had a lot of knowledge about botany and the healing (and cleaning) power of the right plants, or right combination of plants. 

The past couple of years I have been trying to find the balance of mainstream and alternative culture / products that works for me. 

Published by

pacificnorthwestblogger

I have been knitting since I was 10. I love to read, write, knit, listen to music, Travel, and learn about history, especially when it comes to how women got things done around the home up to the mid-1960's.

Leave a Reply

