Grocery Hauls and Funeral Dinners I couldn’t eat

Hey Everyone!

I am really taking to clean eating. It is really helping me feel normal, and it is making dealing with food intolerances so much easier. I have been wanting to live a healthier lifestyle for a long time, I am finally getting my butt in gear and doing.

I did my grocery shopping for this next week today. I needed to run to the bank this morning, and there is a Trader Joe’s nearby. I stopped at Trader Joe’s first to pick up a few items. For what I picked up I was amazed at how little I actually spent. I picked up some celery, Persian Cucumbers, a package of Pitas, a loaf of gluten free bread, a couple clif bars and some organic banana’s. I spent just under $18 for all of it. I then stopped at safeway, where I did the bulk of my grocery shopping. I got quite a bit, and shopped specials. I got all but one of the items on my list and only spent about $65 for what I bought. Some of what I bought is non perishable and will last for a while, so for the food that I will actually be eating this next week I spent about $75. For buying a lot of fruits, vegetables and other healthy foods, and for where I live $75 is not bad at all. For about $3.60 a meal, I can’t complain. I am excited for summer, and being able to go to farmers markets, and for the local strawberries and raspberries to come into season.

I am only beginning my clean eating journey, and I am excited to share what I am finding with you all. If you have any experience with clean eating and Gluten Free/Dairy Free foods and recipes I would love to hear about it. I enjoy sharing what I find, because my Gluten Free & Dairy Free journey has been a long one with a lot of bumps along the way that I have learned from. My main objective is to provide a real world, practical approach to cooking, baking and eating clean for the Gluten Free and Dairy Free. Not knowing what to eat, or even what to look for is an uphill battle. I know full well how hard it is to be out somewhere, where food is provided and you can’t eat any of it because it would make you sick. I know all about eating before hand and then being super hungry when you get home because the span of time between your last snack or meal was longer than you are used to going without food. I understand the pain of watching others eat in front of your, or eating amazing smelling food while all you eat are vegetables off a vegetable tray. Been there, and done that. There are situations where it is unavoidable for you to pretty much “starve” while everyone else around you is eating, and there isn’t much you can do about it. What I am here to help with, is an overall approach to eating clean while being dairy free 100% of the time, and gluten free 95% of the time. I do eat foods containing gluten on an infrequent basis, and what gluten I do eat, for those who really need to adhere to gluten free 100% of the time, can be easily substituted with gluten free options.

My most recent example of being stuck somewhere, where everyone else was eating, and all the food except for the vegetables on the vegetable tray had either dairy or gluten or both in it, was today. I had gone to the funeral of one of my dad’s uncles, and had stayed for the family dinner afterward, beings that I had gone over to the church with my parents and the church is like 5 minutes from where I live, and there was family there that I don’t see very often. It was one of those situations that you don’t really prepare or plan for. If it had been a family funeral out of town (i.e. for one of my relatives at the other end of the state), I would have prepared food to take with me, even if it meant taking a lunch box or cooler with an ice pack. In those situations, where home is more than a good walk distance away, I take food.

I have gotten used to being different, and explaining why I am either not eating, or eating food that I brought as being gluten free and dairy free is still not totally understood let alone really mainstream. explaining that gluten and dairy (dairy and its derivatives especially) are put in the randomist things that it has no business being in, but its still there has become my life. I am grateful for those who do remember, and think about the fact that I can’t eat certain foods. Even if they can’t do anything about it in the moment, the fact that they remembered is a relief.

The two pictures below are of my grocery shopping hauls today.

Safeway Haul:

Trader Joes Haul:

Published by

pacificnorthwestblogger

I have been knitting since I was 10. I love to read, write, knit, listen to music, Travel, and learn about history, especially when it comes to how women got things done around the home up to the mid-1960's.

One thought on “Grocery Hauls and Funeral Dinners I couldn’t eat”

Leave a Reply

