Gluten Free Pie Crust

Hey Everyone!

Yesterday, after I got home from work I needed to make a pumpkin pie for myself that was Gluten and Dairy Free. Beings that I was making this for Thanksgiving, I made Pumpkin Pie. The recipe for dairy free pumpkin filling (as well as baking directions) can be found here.

In making gluten free pie crust, I have tried other gluten free mixes in years past, but I never really liked it. This year I decided to try making the recipe I am familiar with, and subsitute the brown rice flour mix that I have for the regular flour. I wanted to see how it would turn out, and it worked. The Brown Rice Flour mix that I use is from the Gluten Free baking classics book by Annalise Roberts. You can find it online at Barnes and Noble as well as in store at Bob’s Red Mill (for those of you who live in the Portland Metro area).

Here is the recipe for the pie crust I used. Beings that I only made one 9″ pie, I used half a recipe.

Ingredients:

3 cups brown rice flour mix
3 teaspoons xanthan gum
1 teaspoon salt
1 1/4 cups Crisco shortening
1 egg
1 Tablespoon vinegar
5 Tablespoons water

Directions: 

  1. Work Shortening into flour, xanthan gum and salt until pieces are the size of peas
  2. Beat egg well and mix in vinegar and water
  3. Drizzle into flour a little bit at at time, and combine well
  4. Press into thinner crust in desired size pie pan

This recipe will make two bottom crusts or one, two crust pies.

Published by

pacificnorthwestblogger

I have been knitting since I was 10. I love to read, write, knit, listen to music, Travel, and learn about history, especially when it comes to how women got things done around the home up to the mid-1960's.

Leave a Reply

