Some Days it is Just Hard

I am sure that I am not the only one out there with food sensitivities/intolerances/allergies who experience this, but some days, or weekends, or periods of time that it just down right sucks to have to have food issues. It is like being hit with a ton of bricks that you are not normal, and can’t partake in what everyone else is partaking in.

This was one of those weekends for me. Eating grapes while everyone else was eating pizza (that smelled amazing), eating nothing while everyone ate homemade cinnamon rolls with a cream cheese frosting, and eating a homemade peanut butter and honey sandwich on gluten free/dairy free bread while everyone else was eating taco soup (which also smelled amazing). I feel like at times it is harder for someone like me, who could eat normally for 24 years, and then all of a sudden I have to be different. I know everyone isn’t trying to be cruel to me, but it is hard being different and not be able to eat what they are, which I know I know are delicious because I have had said items prior to my food intolerances and sensitives became a part of my life.

Most of the time, I am usually pretty okay with having my own diet and adjusting to where I am going and what I will be doing. I normally have no problems planning accordingly, or am able to cook for myself, or go someplace where it is easy enough to do substitutions. In roughly three years I had gotten pretty used to it, but weekends like the one I have had are a reality check that my normal is not the mainstream normal, and that is something I am still getting used to.

The Holiday’s are the hardest with all the special dinners and activities, and other things going on to be involved with. During which people had to eat and there is no easy way around having to constantly worry about food and labels.

Published by

pacificnorthwestblogger

I have been knitting since I was 10. I love to read, write, knit, listen to music, Travel, and learn about history, especially when it comes to how women got things done around the home up to the mid-1960's.

Leave a Reply

