Rhubarb Sauce

Earlier my dad had brought a pile of about 15 to 20 stalks of rhubarb down to show me that he had picked it, so that I would know it was here to make something out of. I had thought about crisp, then I remembered that I didn’t have enough of my stuff to make a crisp that I could eat. That being said I made rhubarb sauce. It is a lot easier, faster, and easier to make gluten and dairy free.

I cut the ends off the stalks, then chopped them up and stuck them in a saucepan, and added just over a cup of brown sugar, about 3 tablespoons of tapioca, some cinnamon and nutmeg and about half a cup of water. I then put the pot on the stove on medium heat for about 10 minutes then turned it down to between low and medium (about 3 if your stove has numbers), and stirred occasionally so that it didn’t stick. I left it on the stove until it cooled down and the rhubarb got soft. Once it is soft remove from the heat and let cool.

This sauce is really good with tapioca or vanilla pudding.

IMG_5321.JPG

Published by

pacificnorthwestblogger

I have been knitting since I was 10. I love to read, write, knit, listen to music, Travel, and learn about history, especially when it comes to how women got things done around the home up to the mid-1960's.

Leave a Reply

