To Those without Food Sensitivities/Intolerances/Allergies

In this post, I want to address the misconception that food intolerances and sensitives especially in adults can be cured/grown out of.

I, personally have had people tell me to keep reintroducing the foods that I know I have a sensitivy to, or that because one sensitivity is not as bad as the other that cross contamination is OK. That attitude and mindset infuriates me on so many levels. The main reasons this thinking infuriates me, is because it shows a lack of understanding and compassion on their part, as well as a lack of education, even though I talk until I am blue in the face trying to educate them, they also choose to not try to understand what I have to deal with on a daily basis. Dealing with certain people’s choice of stupidity actually puts me at great risk of getting sick than if they would turn off their judgmental “it’s all in her head” thinking and try to understand that even a little bit of dairy and gluten make me sick, and that using the measuring cups I have out for myself that are clean for your flour, when they are perfectly capable of drying off the ones they have been using, thus ensuring no cross contamination and saving me from wasting my ingredients and my food is just stupid. Telling me to take probiotics and/or just keep reintroducing the foods I know I am sensitive to, is the stupidest thing I have heard in the last almost 3 years. Not only will that make me sick at the very least, but knowingly causing more damage to my GI tract is absolutely nuts. If you are sensitive to something, don’t eat something containing what you are sensitive to, it is as simple as that.

To those who haven’t had to deal with a food sensitivity, intolerance or allergy (while different from intolerances/sensitivities avoiding foods that trigger the reaction is the same) yourself, a child, or for a significant other, or a medical professional, or had a food sensitivity that did go away while you may be trying to help, your advice is falling on deaf ears. I can almost guarantee you that the person you are giving the advice to, if they aren’t turning on heel and educating you on the reality of having a true food intolerance/sensitivity/allergy they want to so bad, and if they are not take it as either you are in a place where educating you is not appropriate, or they actually are just biting their tongue hoping that you will stop soon and let them deal with their own life, wish you would mind your own business.

Now that I am going on 3 years of having food intolerances, I am a huge advocate of  awareness, and education on those who do not have intolerances, and how your behaviors, lack of education puts those of us who have food intolerances/sensitivities/allergies at a greater risk of having an adverse reaction, just because you choose to be ignorant or uneducated. I myself did not ask to have gluten, dairy and caffeine sensitivities, they happened to me. If I had chosen to go Gluten and Dairy free without having the sensitives I would not be one to talk, but beings that I developed these sensitivities as an adult, and had at one time been the ignorant “they should get over it, and it’s all in their head” people it does bother me. I

would love nothing more to be “normal” again.Even if my body were to decide to heal itself, and be “over it”, I would still stick to my current diet, because I am of the mindset that once this has happened to me, I am not going to take a chance of the “what if”, when in reality the “What if” is not likely to happen, and this is how my life is. I have accepted that my body doesn’t tolerate Dairy, Gluten or a lot of caffeine. That is just how my life is, and that is how I am going to be living my life.

When you live with someone who has a food intolerance/sensitivity/allergy your whole system of cooking, baking, preparation, and clean up has to change and as much as it means extra work, and being a pain in the rear, it is in their best interest that when it comes to meal preparation, and kitchen sanitation that it revolves around them/ cleaning their way. While you can still eat your normal food, what ever you cooked/baked with and whatever you used for your food needs to be washed and sanitized. It needs to be either run through the dishwasher, or double washed with two different sponges in hot water, and you washing your hands in between washes.

Food Sensitivities such as those related to Dairy, Wheat & Gluten, Eggs, and a whole lot more are a serious issue for those who have them. More and more people are developing sensitivities to these foods. It is not all in our heads. Many of us wish it was, or like the common cold that we would just get over. Unfortunately for millions of Americans, certain foods make us sick, and we have to go to great lengths to keep those foods out of our bodies, in a society that is largely uneducated about these issues that ail us.

In large I am gearing this blog to those who have Dairy and Gluten Sensitives or have a child/someone living with them who has these sensitives/intolerances/allergies because that is what I am dealing with. I am doing this in part for the newbies who are just finding out, and have no idea where to start. I was there once myself. I had no one to help me. I was on my own, and still by in large am on my own figuring it all out myself. My aim is to help even one person then my mission would be complete. To help more would be amazing.

Published by

pacificnorthwestblogger

I have been knitting since I was 10. I love to read, write, knit, listen to music, Travel, and learn about history, especially when it comes to how women got things done around the home up to the mid-1960's.

Leave a Reply

